How not to create a music video – Part 1

This was a music video that took way too much time to do. It started when I got a tape from Scott and Al and Scott of their latest Pop Machine material in the early 90’s. The bi-coastal humor machine was in full gear. Pat and I would be creating skits and bits for BENT! as well as writing for radio and syndicators,  and Scott, Al, Scott & Friends would be making music and doing their own video show in between real jobs.

Dan Klass shot some footage of the band, and I ended up with the raws from both live cameras and some ‘beauty shots’ of the group wandering LA… that ended up turning into the first version of the live ‘Get off of my Foot’

It looked like total crap.

Not the performance. The quality of the video, which was shot on Hi-8, looked terrible when I went down a generation to 3/4″ so I could edit it. What to do, what to do…

Well, If I couldn’t make it look better, I went the total opposite. Make it look murky, blurry, trippy, and put tons of video feedback on the slow sections. Suddenly, it started to look like a rock n roll video. I actually was happy how that version came out, and the Tie-Dye Pop Machine sign in the back, and intercut quick zooms all helped it come together.

That inspired me to do my version of a Pop Machine video without the band at all. That’s in the next part. Enjoy.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “How not to create a music video – Part 1”

  1. scottmercer Says:

    It wasn’t a tie-dye Pop Machine banner, it’s actually a rip-off of the Tide detergent box, via another album cover rip-off by British band The Farm from around that time. So it’s a ripoff of a ripoff.

    And, it’s actually painted on the back of a WHEB banner that you gave me! I think you were gonna throw it out. I belive I’ve still got it rolled up somewhere.

    And the video did come out really video-ish. Too bad the “M” in “MTV” doesn’t stand for music anymore. Whatever it does stand for, who knows.

  2. boffoyuxdudes Says:

    Yeah, that one could have actually gone out in a press kit back then. I don’t think I’ve seen a video since Pop Up Video on VH1 – and that’s not a good thing.

    But if I have a reality show with a c list celeb and an outrageous situation, I think I’ll get a greenlight for 13 weeks on the strength of a one line synopsis.

    I still think ‘My Dad the King’ would work as a sitcom. Elvis with a young teenage son, trying to fit in while remaining incognito to the public in general.. but he plays an elvis impersonator, and keeps losing the contests to an Indian guy with scarves….

  3. scottmercer Says:

    There’s a Thai Elvis impersonator here in Hollywood (Thai Town, actually), Kavee (called Kevin, for obvious reasons) Thongprecha, who famously sings karaoke in his best Elvis croon while surrounded by restaurant patrons eating hot and spicy jellied squirrel.

    I’m just kidding about the squirrel, but they do serve frog and wild boar. Here’s one listing of the restaurant:
    http://losangeles.citysearch.com/profile/52294/los_angeles_ca/palms_thai.html

    Here’s another reference to him in the “Girls’ Guide to Elvis:”
    http://girlsguidetoelvis.com/holownthael.html

  4. boffoyuxdudes Says:

    I didn’t know until recently that the Pop Machine greatest hits CD is up on iTunes. Good place to catch a compilation of the 20+ years of Pop Machine music.

    http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?id=148235235&s=143441

    Eventually I’ll get the Boffo Yux Dudes CDs up there for purchase when I get time to remaster things…

Leave a Reply

