How do you market a candy shaped like Indian Holy Men?

Pat making himself at home on the TV-38 Movie Loft set.

Pat making himself at home on the TV-38 Movie Loft set.

Another BYD punfest of a bit.

I had taken a ‘Religions of the World’ class at Syracuse University – a filler course so I could complete the Liberal Arts quota of credit hours. One of the chapters that stuck was on the basic Hindu Caste system and reincarnation. Somewhere it must have been percolating in the back of the mind, when Ghandi and Candy came out… this was the result. Enjoy.

Boffo Yux Dudes

Promote Your Page Too

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “How do you market a candy shaped like Indian Holy Men?”

  1. scottmercer Says:

    I believe also hanging out in the back of your mind might have been the cover of “My Girl Lollipop” by British ska group Bad Manners, which I believe we played on WJPZ a few times. In that song, they changed the lyric “she’s as sweet as candy” to “she’s as sweet as Gandhi,” although Buster (the lead singer) kind of slurred the line so it was not too understandable. Why they did this we never figured out. I guess just to be goofy.

    Never mind the fact that they changed the gender in the lyrics too, it was originally “My Boy Lollipop” and sung by a 14 year old Jamaican girl. But that’s a little off point.

  2. boffoyuxdudes Says:

    I forgot about that connection. Slurred lyrics and Bartles and James wine coolers from the 80’s had an interesting effect on the brain back then.

Leave a comment